Christmas 2011 Joys

A longtime friend of my son has joined us for Christmas for several years now. His parents are divorced, and maybe a little dysfunctional in their lives, and our friend cares for them deeply but knows that they cannot be there for him. They just don’t have it in them.

So we welcome him with love, give him presents, feed him a big meal, etc.  He is one of the family.

The morning after Christmas this year, he sent me a message on Facebook. He thanked us for his wonderful Christmas, for always welcoming him into our home, for his gifts, etc.

But he also said I have become a second mother to him. He thanked me for always talking to him, counseling him, caring about him, and helping him find his way in the world. I was overjoyed to read this and to know that he cares about me the way I care about him.

We love you Sean. You’re family.

Leave a Reply

